top of page

Stitching Beauty


Many women in my life have inspired and encouraged me to sew. Sewing has been a family tradition that supported my love of making things with my hands.... I look at my hands and I see my grandmother's hands - they were always busy taking care of her family.... Making clothes for myself when I was in high school, is where I started but when I was given a grandmother's flower garden quilt top that needed to be finished, that was the beginning of my passion for quilts and quilt making. I started with a book entitled "Let's make a patchwork quilt" ... every stitch was by hand and that was perfect for me. I loved the idea of taking my sewing with me and using every precious moment in my busy life with two young children to piece a block or add quilting stitches to a baby quilt . Many quilts later, I use my sewing machine for piecing and I still Love to quilt by hand - small quilts and wall hangings. I love to play with fabric scraps - small pieces that other quilters might have no use for, inspire me the most. I am so grateful to be working on the Hannah's Hearts project with many wonderful and creative ladies. I am especially pleased to be collaborating with Mixed Media Artist Jackie Knight on some small quilted and beaded wallhangings. Working with Jackie has been a fabulous experience. I hope we have only just begun ... Sue Ford

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page